top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Three Contributing Authors Talk "These Haunted Hills: Book 6"

Good morning, everyone, and welcome back to Bookmarked!


This week, Jan-Carol Publishing has a special blog and podcast episode to share with you all. In celebration of These Haunted Hills: Book 6 being available to pre-order, three contributing authors are here to talk about their stories from the collection.



Jan Howery, Draco Sage, and Allison G. Lawson answered a few questions about their stories and will be chatting on the podcast Friday in greater detail about this exciting horror collection. You won't want to miss it!


But for now, please enjoy the following Q&A with three of THH: Book 6's contributing authors. And be sure to pre-order the collection here.


BOOKMARKED: What is your story in These Haunted Hills: Book 6 called, and what's it about?

JAN HOWERY: My story is titled "The Ringing of the Bell," and it is about 1800's Appalachian traditions with a blend of spooky chill and family secrets.

DRACO SAGE: My story, "Atropa Mansion," invites readers on a ghost tour of one of Appalachia's most haunted buildings with the hopes of seeing evidence from beyond the grave—if only one of the tour guests should be so lucky. 

ALLISON G. LAWSON: My story is called "Sally Stitches," and it is about two sisters who unwittingly summon a being of local folklore, Sally Stitches, a ghostly woman who kidnaps kids and turns them into hand-stitched dolls. Will Carrie and Autumn find the latest missing girl before it's too late?


What was your inspiration for writing this story? Where did the idea come from?

JAN: As a child growing up in a rural Appalachian community and on a farm, I recall ghostly stories that my granddad would tell. This story idea came from an actual farming event each year and a tradition in the 1800s.

DRACO: I was very loosely inspired by the remake of The Haunted Mansion. In general, the idea of historic, sprawling homes and their stories has always been appealing to me. 

ALLISON: I was inspired by children's horror stories I read and loved growing up, such as the works of R. L. Stine and Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark books. The character of Sally Stitches came to me because I find dolls very creepy, and I liked the concept of a ghostly doll maker in the foothills of Appalachia.


What was your writing process like, and what advice would you give to other people trying to write a short story? 

JAN: My writing process starts with visualizing the story — like a movie — in my thoughts. I write down names, ideas, and think about the storyline for weeks or even months before I put pen to paper. My advice is to look for your own inspirations. This is the start. 

DRACO: I cranked the entire thing out in about two sittings, but I definitely went back over it two or three times and got feedback. I always recommend reading stories to friends or having others read over your work to help catch plot holes or parts that may be confusing.  

ALLISON: I actually wrote the first draft of my story in one sitting. I came up with an outline of events I wanted to take place, and then I wrote for about 2 hours without stopping. It all just kind of fell into place. My advice is to always know your beginning, middle, and end before you start writing. Having an outline can help you stay on target and remember what ending you're working toward.


***


Again, tune in this Friday to JCP's podcast, Bookmarked, for even more information about These Haunted Hills: Book 6 and discussions about the stories within. Jan, Draco, and Allison will be giving more writing advice and talking about story inspirations.


Thanks to everyone reading this blog, and JCP hopes you have a great rest of your week!

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page