top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Author Rosie Hartwig-Benson!

Good morning, everyone!


Hopefully, you're all having a lovely week so far, full of excitement and joy. We are one day away from February, and I think I speak for most people when I say it feels like 2024 is going by so fast!


As I've mentioned before, Jan-Carol Publishing has lots of great things in store for 2024, including our 20th anniversary in February! We're all super proud of this company and all the hard work put into it the past 20 years. While I'm still somewhat new to JCP, I'm very aware of the company's history, and I'm so happy to be a part of it moving forward.


Today, I'll be featuring a brief Q&A with wonderful author Rosie Hartwig-Benson, whose memoir, Petals of Distinction, has touched the hearts and lives of everyone who reads it. This Friday, Draco will be conducting a full-length interview with Rosie on our podcast, Bookmarked, so be sure to give that a listen later in the week!



Petals of Distinction is a heart-rending journey of epic proportion into the mind, body, and soul of Rosie: a woman stricken with a silent disease paralyzing her stomach. She leads you along an intimate path through complexities that push her across the pain barrier, stripping her of splendor, but never her will to keep fighting. It is an inspiring and truthful book that everyone would benefit from reading. You can purchase it here.


Now, without further ado, here is my Q&A with Rosie.


BOOKMARKED: What year did you start writing your novel, "Petals of Distinction," and could you tell our readers a bit about what inspired you to write this memoir? 

ROSIE HARTWIG-BENSON: When I was bedridden in 2014, I experienced what I call 'God whispers.' I would ask my nurse to write down these words on a sheet of paper that was supplied to me. I was too weak at that time to lift my head from a pillow to write them down myself. I soon had a pile of these tiny slips of paper. Three years later, they became the chapter titles for "Petals of Distinction." I still find this amazing.


What has the reception of your novel been like over the years?

The book continues to bring positive and overwhelming responses... I feel so blessed!


I know you're a nature enthusiast. What are some of your favorite outdoor spots to visit?

Well, I love to meditate in the peacefulness of any flower garden or by a lake, and to capture the wide variety of plants, birds, butterflies, and sunsets.


What, in your opinion, is the key to maintaining a positive mindset/outlook, even when it's difficult?

To always remain grateful. To look into a mirror and love the person looking back at you. Accepting your circumstances. Embrace any scars and use them as a reminder of how far you have come, and let them fuel your journey toward a life of purpose and fulfillment.


What types of books do you find yourself most drawn to?

I have always been captivated when reading human-interest stories... Maybe this is one reason why I wrote a memoir!

* * *


Thank you again to Rosie for participating in this Q&A, and I absolutely cannot wait for people to listen to her interview on our podcast, Bookmarked. Again, that comes out this FRIDAY.


I'm sending well wishes to everyone as they make it through the rest of this week, and I hope you'll tune in to next Wednesday's blog post for more bookish content!

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

101 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page