top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Mystery Author Linda Hudson Hoagland!

Good morning, everyone!


This week on Bookmarked, I've got a very exciting interview to share with you all!


Linda Hudson Hoagland, author of the Lindsay Harris Murder Mystery Series as well as many standalone novels, sat down with me to answer a few questions regarding her successful ongoing career.


In Linda's first book in the Lindsay Harris series, Snooping Can Be Dangerous, life is good for legal assistant Lindsay Harris. She has friends, three wonderful children, and a job that pays the bills. However, when a man from her neighborhood is murdered, her world is shaken up. Not only does she have to deal with her overbearing boss, but now her crazy ex-husband is back in the picture -- and that means trouble.


With the help of some of her closest friends, Lindsay decides to take matters into her own hands. But she soon finds herself in in the middle of a deadly situation as she learns that snooping can, indeed, be dangerous.


This book, as well as Linda's entire series, can be found on JCP's website here.


Now, please enjoy the following interview with Linda Hudson Hoagland.


BOOKMARKED: When did you first realize you wanted to be an author? What inspired that decision?

LINDA HUDSON HOAGLAND: I was in elementary school when I was inspired to write. My teacher handed out new books for us to see in class, and as I was looking at the book I was holding, I said to her, “I want my name right here on a book.” I was pointing at the name of the writer on the spine. Her response was, “You have to write a book." That’s all it took.

 

Where did you get the idea for your acclaimed Lindsay Harris Murder Mystery Series?

 Tammy Robinson Smith approached to see if I would be interested in writing a series for Mountain Girl Press. She was the owner of that imprint at the time, and I was happy to receive that request. She asked me to think about what the main characters would be and what the storyline would be.

 

I chose a legal secretary who worked for a lawyer in a small town. Lindsay Harris would be a single mother with three children who snooped into areas where they didn’t belong. Thus, the beginning of the “Snooping Can Be” series.

 

What have you learned about yourself as an author throughout the years as you've gained more and more experience?

I have learned to be an author. That doesn’t come naturally to me, but the desire has always been there. One of the first things I had to do was not be shy. I watched a friend who was excellent at selling his books, and I copied his style. I reached out to anyone walking past my table with, “Do you like to read?” or, “Do you need a new book to read?”


That effort to start a conversation with strangers has helped me sell many of my books. Read everything related to your specific genre, then add more genres to the mix. I write mysteries, nonfiction, short stories, and poetry with some success in all genres.

 

What do you think are the key ingredients to creating a successful mystery novel? Similarly, are there certain things that aspiring authors should avoid when trying to write a mystery novel? 

Life is the key ingredient for my mysteries. You must have drama, humor (if possible), and calm in each story with the explanation as to why everything is happening the way it occurs.

 

All fiction writers should avoid long descriptive narratives that will bore the reader. Scenes should be described briefly, leaving most of the description up to the reader’s imagination.


Who are some of your favorite authors to read in your spare time? Favorite books?

Like all mystery readers, I like John Grisham, along with David Baldacci and Patricia Cornwell.

Any of the books by the above authors are among my favorites.

 

What would you like to say to your many fans and supporters?

Thank you! My writing life would be difficult without you.

 

 ***


Again, all of Linda's books can be found on JCP's website. Please check out her Lindsay Harris Murder Mystery Series if you haven't read it before! All of those books are comforting reads for all ages with twists and turns around every corner.


This Friday, on JCP's podcast, I will be talking about Linda's career and publications, so be sure to give that a listen as well!


I hope everyone has a wonderful week and continues to stay safe out there. Read lots of books, and remember to support your local authors!

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page