top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Children's Author Patrice Wilkerson!

Good morning, everyone.


Welcome to another week of Bookmarked, the blog for authors and readers alike.


Today, I've got an exciting interview to share with you all with none other than Patrice Wilkerson! Patrice is the author of the beautifully illustrated picture book, My Favorite Season is Spring.



Through rhythm and rhyme, take a fun and exciting journey with little Susie as she describes her favorite season. She finds so many fun things to do, and she loves the outdoors; you will too! This book is a wonderful and engaging teaching tool for children to learn about Spring. You can purchase Patrice's book through Amazon or by going to JCP's website here.


Now, please enjoy my Q&A with Patrice!


BOOKMARKED: What initially inspired you to write your book, "My Favorite Season is Spring"?

PATRICE WILKERSON: Ever since I was eight years old, I enjoyed writing. I enjoyed reading books as a child, and I always wanted to write a children’s book. I wanted to write a book that kids could enjoy reading and also learn from. I decided to write about the different seasons and talk about my favorite season, which is spring, and all the fun things that you can do during the springtime!

 

What do you think are the key ingredients to writing a children's book?

The key ingredients to writing a children’s book are colorful illustrations, an eye-catching book cover, and an engaging but simple story that children can easily understand.

 

At what point in your life did you know you wanted to write? What inspired that decision? 

When I was eight years old, I knew then that I wanted to write. I enjoyed writing short stories and poetry. I was inspired to write because writing allows me to showcase my creativity, and I enjoy telling stories through my writing.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors to read? Favorite books?

My favorite author growing up was Maya Angelou; I loved her passion for poetry. My favorite book is "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings."

 

Why is spring your favorite season?

My Favorite Season is Spring because I love the warmer weather. I like being outside and being able to take walks in the park. Also, I love spring because I love to hear the birds sing and smelling the fresh flowers!

 

Is there anything you'd like to say to your supporters and fans? 

I would like to say thank you to all my supporters and fans! This is truly a dream come true for me, and I’m so blessed that I was able to fulfill my dream of being an award-winning children’s author. Thank you to everyone!


***


Thank you again, Patrice, for your great responses! Everyone, please check out Patrice's book by going to Amazon or JCP's website. It's a fun and whimsical book that both kids and parents will enjoy!


And to all of our readers, thank you for continuing to support this blog and our partnering podcast, Bookmarked. This Friday, be sure to listen to our podcast, because Patrice will be participating in a full-length interview! It's a great conversation you won't want to miss.


 

 Allison Chudina

Magazine Content Editor & Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page