top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Author Taylor Burke!

Good morning, everyone. Welcome to Jan-Carol Publishing's blog, Bookmarked!


This week, which happens to be the last week in August (I can't believe it!), is a special one, because I get to share with you an interview with Taylor Burke.


Taylor is the author of The Goods are Odd, a "comical yet disturbing read" about Taylor's laugh-out-loud, real-life account of online dating in Alaska. This book offers a refreshing and raucous look at using dating apps in your 30s. Men and women will cringe and cry of laughter at the relatable horrors inside.


Taking inspiration from an old Alaskan saying, "The odds are good, but the goods are odd," author-reporter Taylor takes readers on a winding journey of real Tinder, Hinge, and Bumble profiles she's encountered in her quest to find love.

The book serves as a perfect coffee table staple, or a book to gift to your single friends. The Goods Are Odd promises a droll commentary on the comical, disturbing, and Wild West-esque landscape of online dating in your 30s. It can be purchased from Amazon here.


When she isn't writing social satire, Taylor can be found reporting on the news for KOLO8, a television station based in Reno, Nevada.


Now, without further ado, please enjoy the following interview with Taylor!


BOOKMARKED: What inspired you to write your book, The Goods Are Odd?

TAYLOR BURKE: The book was originally just supposed to be a funny thing for friends. I have this girls group chat, and I'd often be sending screenshots of the most horrendous online dating profiles I had ever seen, and with each one, I'd write some funny comments. After about 30 of them, my friend Liz thought it'd be a good idea to turn this into a book.


At the time, it was my very first winter in Alaska, and if you don't know much about Alaska, the winters are abysmal. We're talking darkness 24 hours a day and snow that doesn't quit, so I thought it'd be a good way to combat cabin fever. I honestly wasn't sure if I'd ever even publish it, but fast forward two years and here I am!


How would you sum up your book in three words? 

If I had to pick three, I'd say funny, shocking, and scary all in one.


How long have you wanted to write a book, and what is your background with writing?

Well, when I was just fresh out of college, a friend of mine had the most wonderful dog named Rory, and I always said I'd write a children's book about him. This was sort of my redemption for not doing that, but hey, there's still time.


I actually have an extensive background in writing but in a slightly different format. I'm a broadcast journalist, so writing is my livelihood. I actually feel like this book reflects that a bit, because in the news world, our stories are 2-3 minutes tops, so we take a lot of information and condense it into quick pieces. In my book, each profile or conversation I highlight has a page at best of writing with it.


Tell me a bit about being a reporter! What's your favorite part of being a news anchor?

Being a reporter is not for the faint of heart, but I wouldn't change it for the world. You have to be ready to drop what you're doing and run out the door at all times. People think it's all glamorous, but I've been out reporting in rain, snow, near fires... you name it. It's also incredibly difficult. I have to oftentimes take incredibly complex issues and not only condense it, but make it digestible for the average viewer. There's this rule of thumb where our writing style is pretending that we're explaining this to our moms.


I'm in a weird hybrid position where I do both field work and anchor, so my days are interesting. My favorite part is the difference I get to make in my community. I choose all my own stories, and I'm what's called "general assignment," so I cover anything and everything. But I think my specialty is human interest pieces. I love seeking out individuals or organizations who are doing amazing things. I hope that by highlighting these people, my viewers will be inspired to also make a change. 


What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

I know it's such a cliché, but write what you know. My entire book is just me cracking jokes and making observations. It was natural and reflects my humor in real life. If you overthink it, I think the reader can sense that you're trying too hard. 


Is there anything you'd like to say to the supporters in your life?

Mostly that I'll never forget the impact they've had on me and for keeping me going when I tried to give up. Everything that I do, I do for them as a thank you.


***


Taylor, thank you again for a great Q&A! Taylor will also be featured in this Friday's podcast episode, where she and Draco will be chatting about Taylor's book in greater detail. You won't want to miss it!


To all of our readers, thank you for supporting this blog and our partnering podcast. We appreciate you! Have a wonderful rest of your week.


 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant / Magazine Content Editor

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page