top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Author Martha Jane Orlando!

Hello, everyone!


I hope you're all enjoying the latter half of August. For many, school has started back, and fall is right around the corner. It's the perfect time to start a new book series.


If you're looking for a trilogy or two to knock out, look no further than the books of Martha Jane Orlando, author of The Glade Series and Adventures in the Glade.



The Glade Series and Adventures in the Glade are both fantastic trilogies that will transport you and keep you on the edge of your seat! Both trilogies can be found on Amazon here. Martha also has a website, https://gladetrilogy.wixsite.com/theglade, where you can learn more about her books and her background as an author.


I was able to chat with Martha this week for both the blog and podcast, which will release its new episode on Friday! You won't want to miss Martha's podcast interview this week.


To hold you over until then, please enjoy the following Q&A with Martha!


BOOKMARKED: How long have you been interested in writing, and where did that love of writing come from?

MARTHA JANE ORLANDO: My love for writing sprang out of my early love for books. My parents read to my brother and me constantly, everything from Mother Goose and classic fairy tales to more modern books like Charlotte’s Web and Dr. Seuss. I distinctly recall looking at the words on the pages and being fascinated that these symbols could make a story come to life. Perhaps, it was because of the repetition, but by the time I was five, I could decipher those magical words and read them on my own. By the time I was in fourth grade, I knew I wanted to write my own stories, ones that would transport readers to the world of wonder and imagination, just as I had been inspired by the tales of others.


How would you describe your series of books, The Glade Series and Adventures in the Glade, to someone who hasn't read them?

Though my protagonist, Davy, is only 10 years old, these books are not meant to be enjoyed just by young people, but by adults, too. Let’s be honest here – how many of you reading this could spend an entire summer in a strange (to you) place, without a computer or television? Davy thinks that staying at Grandpa Will’s without these distractions and his friends will be the worst summer he’s ever had. He’s convinced that he will be completely miserable and does his level best to make his mother, sister, and step-father feel the same way when in his company. 


But miraculously, all that changes when Davy meets Grey, a talking squirrel that only he can see and hear. The boy is amazed to discover that he truly is the new "Chosen One" of the Old Ones that Grandpa Will promised he would be. These summer adventures with these miraculous animals of the Nantahala Forest are sure to surprise and entertain readers of all ages.


What do you hope people take away from reading your books?

My hope is that my readers will be filled with childlike joy and delight as they embark with Davy and the Old Ones on their daring, and sometimes dangerous, exploits. In a world so hurting and jaded by outward circumstances, I pray that these novels heal, inspire, and assure readers that God is in every bit of His creation, in all that we can understand and all that we can’t. To Him, we are all chosen ones.


Who are some of your favorite authors to read? Favorite novels?

I have had so many favorite books and authors over the years, I honestly can’t narrow my list down. I will say that I’ve always loved C. S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia and J. R. R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings


What is your advice for aspiring writers who may not know where to start?

If you are an aspiring author, then you are likely already aware of the writing talent with which God has blessed you. Keep at it! Don’t give up! And always write about what you know. Readers can sense whether or not you are authentic with them, so though you write with your head, your heart should lead you. Every one of us has a story to tell. Tell yours in the best way you possibly can, and be prepared to edit until the cows come home!


Is there anything you'd like to say to your many fans and supporters over the years?

To all the wonderful folks who have believed in and encouraged me in my writing endeavors, I cannot begin to give enough thanks. My friends and family have held me up and held me together, and I’m so grateful that God chose to give me so many blessings through this gift of writing. I pray that I’ve reached others in His name and for His glory.


***


Thanks again to Martha for a fantastic Q&A! To check out more of Martha's writing, you can find her weekly blog at the following address: https://marthaorlando.blogspot.com/.


And, again, please read Martha's book series. They are really wonderful and entertaining, as well as heartwarming!


I hope everyone has a great week, and thanks for reading.

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked


57 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Guest
Aug 27

Enjoyable reading. Thank you, Martha. God bless.


Victor S E Moubarak

Like
bottom of page