top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Authors Nikki and Miles Burdine!

Good afternoon, everyone!


This is Bookmarked's last blog post for the month of February, and I think I speak for everyone when I say this year is already flying by. I can't believe we're only a few days away from March.


This week, in both the blog and our podcast, JCP is very excited to share a special interview with  Nikki and Miles Burdine, co-authors of the beautiful children's book, Live Like Grunt.



Live Like Grunt is a story about a yellow lab who gave the Burdine family unconditional love and loyalty for about a dozen years. Grunt was his name and love was his game.


Miles created a daily "Thoughts by Grunt Dog" email he sent out to his girls. These "thoughts" were

often accompanied by a picture of Grunt Dog and a quote. This book is a collection of "Thoughts by

Grunt Dog" that make great life lessons for any family!


Everyday lessons can be learned in the most unexpected ways -- even from a dog. Grunt can teach us to love fiercely, loyally, and unconditionally. The lessons in this book will uplift you and your family, and remember to live like Grunt!


Live Like Grunt can be purchased online here.


Now, please enjoy the following Q&A with Nikki Burdine, and remember to listen to our podcast this Friday for a special interview with both Nikki and Miles about their charming book and the story behind it.


BOOKMARKED: How did your book, "Live Like Grunt," initially come about?  

NIKKI BURDINE: I officially wrote "Live Like Grunt" when I was on maternity leave with my daughter, Andi. But the idea came from my dad years ago, when I was a kid! My dad would try to teach my sisters and me life lessons, as parents do... but like most kids, we didn't listen to our parents.


My dad saw our adoration for our family dog, Grunt, and saw a teaching opportunity. Little lessons like, "Always have a positive attitude," and, "Be kind to everyone," can be taught through the eyes of a dog, because frankly, dogs are better than many humans! Dad would write these lessons out on a piece of paper with a picture of Grunt and either put them in our lunch or email them to us as we got older. When I became a mom, I remembered some of these lessons and had the idea to put them all into a book. Of course, Dad still had them, so we put them all together. 


What do you hope readers feel while reading the book, and what do you hope they gain from it?

I hope readers feel comfort in knowing that the way to a happy life, for the most part, is pretty simple. Just be kind, treat others with respect, love your family, and all that good stuff. I also hope readers are reminded of the pure goodness that is dogs; their unconditional love for us is something we can learn a lot from. I also hope it encourages a lifelong love of animals for these kids, because there are few greater things than the love from a dog.


What's it like knowing "Live Like Grunt" is being donated to 5,000 elementary students? 

When I heard there was an opportunity to get "Live Like Grunt" into the hands of 5,000 kids, I was kind of in disbelief. The pure joy I felt seeing these kids faces' when they realized the book was theirs was so special. Sometimes, I forget the power a book can hold, especially to a child.


I've heard from so many parents since the books were donated, and the message has all been the same: "We love the words and lessons for our kid, and the kid loves Grunt and learning from him!"


If you could sum up your book in three words, what would they be?

Kindness, Family, Friendship


Do you have any plans to write again in the future?

Yes! I would love to write another book. I have several ideas for another children's book, and hopefully I can put pen to paper soon! 


Is there anything else you'd like to say to your fans and supporters of "Live Like Grunt"?

Thank you for embracing Grunt and continuing his legacy. He was such a special dog, and I know he's in heaven and so proud of all the kids who continue to love him. 


***


Thanks again, Nikki, for being a part of this Q&A! And to our readers, again, please listen to this week's new podcast episode. It contains a wonderful interview with Nikki and Miles that you won't want to miss.


I hope everyone has a great Wednesday. Stay safe, and remember to read lots of books!

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page