top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllison C.

Interview with Author Rick Toomey, Ed.D.

Good afternoon, everyone!


Today, I have a very special Q&A to share with you all.


Rick Toomey, author of Power of Understanding: How Personality Influences Our Lives and The Joy of Being You, answered a few questions about his writing career. This Friday on our podcast, you will also be able to listen to a more in-depth interview with Rick. It's a very informative conversation you won't want to miss with lots of great insight into Rick's career!




Now, please enjoy the following Q&A with Rick!


BOOKMARKED: What initially got you into writing? Was it always something you envisioned for yourself?

RICK TOOMEY: In 2011, I retired from teaching at Tusculum University and full-time consulting. I continued doing part-time consulting and leadership development, but the additional time provided the opportunity to begin writing, which I had always wanted to do. I have been blessed with the opportunity to learn from and work with some of the leading minds in the area of team-building, personal effectiveness, leadership, and organizational development. I found being able to share my experiences, learnings, and thoughts in those areas very fulfilling.

     

What inspired you to write Power of Understanding

I began using the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), which is a personality assessment instrument, as a minister in the mid-1970s. I later used it as a counselor in the 1980s. Beginning in 1992, I used it in my team-building, personal, leadership, and organizational work at Eastman Chemical and other organizations. I found it to be an incredible tool for helping individuals and groups to gain a better understanding of themselves and others, and then use that understanding to improve their personal and team effectiveness and the quality of their relationships. I wanted to share those stories and insights from many personal experiences.

   

Between writing The Joy of Being You and Power of Understanding, what's the biggest thing you've learned about people? 

"The Joy of Being You" is a children's book, which came out of the blue. I shared some posts on Facebook about the different behavior of our two dogs and what their MBTI personality type would be. People loved the posts, so I thought I needed to write a children's book focusing on the fact that different personality types are all good, and we should help children celebrate and find the joy in who they are created to be.


That is probably the biggest thing that has been reaffirmed for me. Finding the joy in being who we are and helping others to celebrate who they are is one of the most important things in life.

        

What advice would you impart to aspiring authors? 

Write what you are passionate about and find joy in sharing your ideas with others.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors and favorite books of all time?

The three books that impacted my life the most, other than the Bible, are "In His Steps" by Charles Sheldon, "Man's Search for Meaning" by Viktor Frankl, "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee, and "The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People" by Stephen Covey.


Is there anything you'd like to say to your supporters and fans?

I hope you read books that help you grow and bring you joy!


***


Thanks again to Rick for participating in this Q&A with such thoughtful answers!


To check out Power of Understanding or The Joy of Being You for yourself, you can visit our website's Square site here. These are very insightful books that will make you think about the world differently, and JCP can't recommend them enough!


I hope everyone has a wonderful week, and don't forget to listen to this Friday's podcast episode for a more in-depth conversation with Rick!

 

Allison Chudina

Editorial Assistant

Jan-Carol Publishing, Inc.

Bookmarked

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page